Home Faculty meeting NGTC Announces Top College Honors

NGTC Announces Top College Honors


Brian Carlucci of Blue Ridge is the winner of the 2022 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) from North Georgia Technical College. Nominated by his instructor, Dr. Martha Marquardt, Carlucci is a registered nursing student at the Blairsville campus.

GOAL, a statewide program of the Georgia Technical College System, began in 1971 and continues to honor excellence in academics and leadership among technical college students across the state. GOAL candidates are nominated by an instructor and must maintain a GPA of 3.0 or higher and demonstrate a strong work ethic and leadership skills. Local GOAL winners are selected from each of the state’s 22 technical colleges.

GOAL finalists (left to right): Courtney Holbrooks, Jessica Garner, NGTC President John Wilkinson, Ashley Pankey and GOAL winner Brian Carlucci.

Students representing various programs on North Georgia Technical College campuses were nominated as candidates to represent the NGTC in the state competition. The top four finalists selected for the 2022 GOAL Award included Ashley Pankey, a licensed nursing student from Blairsville, nominated by instructor Dr. Martha Marquardt; Jessica Garner, practical nursing student from Gainesville, nominated by instructor Sharon McFarland; Courtney Holbrooks, practical nursing student from Clayton, nominated by instructor Sharon McFarland; and Carlucci.

NGTC presented this year’s Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Education to Advanced Manufacturing Program Director and Instructor Adam Fulbright. Fulbright has worked at the college since 2018.

The Rick Perkins Award honors the most outstanding instructors in technical education by recognizing those who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. An instructor is selected each year from the 22 colleges in the Georgia Technical College System.

Fulbright provides instruction in the theory and practical applications of industrial wiring, motor controls, energy and fluid mechanics, and computers used for industrial automation. He is an Honorary Graduate of NGTC in Industrial Systems Technology and Dean’s Researcher of Athens Technical College in Power Systems Technology.

“It is a tremendous honor to recognize these students and faculty members for their hard work and perseverance,” NGTC President John Wilkinson said during the January 27 awards presentation at the Rotary Meeting. Habersham. “These students and faculty have faced many challenges and triumphs along the way, but they have continued to go the extra mile to compete for these prestigious awards. I commend each of them for their dedication to excellence and their desire to represent our college and want to congratulate them on this achievement.

The GOAL Award and Rick Perkins Award winners will now advance to represent NGTC in the regional competition, which will be held on March 1.

Printable, PDF and email version