Home Faculty meeting LHU Announces Faculty Awards | News, Sports, Jobs

LHU Announces Faculty Awards | News, Sports, Jobs


LOCK HAVEN — The 2022 Lock Haven University Faculty Awards have been presented to Dr. Jennifer Deitloff, recipient of the Distinguished Service Award, and Marjorie Maddox Hafer, recipient of the Outstanding Scholarship Award.

To be considered for the service award, nominees provided a narrative detailing the following areas of service: departmental, APSCUF, academic and community service, as well as any samples of their work.

To be considered for the scholarship, applicants have provided a narrative detailing the following scholarship areas and their impact on their field of study: publications; presentations; new courses, programs or similar curriculum development projects; professional growth and development, research; and any relevant samples of their work.

“I congratulate Dr. Deitloff and Professor Maddox Hafer on this well-deserved recognition and thank them both for their commitment to our students,” said Bashar W. Hanna, President. “Student success is our top priority. The dedication, support and mentorship that our professors show to students helps them achieve their goals and fulfill their academic and professional aspirations.

Deitloff has been a member of the LHU Biology Department since the fall of 2014. She is involved with several universities, APSCUFs, and departmental service groups, in addition to being chair of the faculty’s professional development committee, chair of the area committee of Security and Member of the HOPE Center Advisory Board.

“When choosing service activities, I keep these two goals in mind: how can I work to create a safe and welcoming community for students, and how can I work to create a positive environment for teachers or other members of the community? said Deitloff.

She has co-authored several symposium proposals and recently approved a National Science Foundation grant proposal to host a symposium on diversity, equity, and inclusion at the Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (JMIH) . Deitloff served on the board of the Clinton County Arts Council (CCAC) and volunteered at the Station Gallery.

Maddox Hafer joined LHU’s English Department in the fall of 1990. She co-chairs LHU’s Pennsylvania Authors Reading Series, UpWrite Reading Series, and Write Now! Reading Series and, in the past, was an advisor to the English Club and The Crucible, LHU’s literary and arts journal.

Award-winning author, Sage Graduate Fellow of Cornell University (MFA), and lecturer at the University of Louisville, Maddox Hafer has published 13 collections of poetry and co-edited a book of poetry with Jerry Wemple, professor at the Bloomsburg University.

She is the recipient of the 2012 LHU Honors Professor of the Year, the 2007 Collaboration and Teamwork Award for Celebration of Scholarship, the 2004 Faculty Scholarship Award, as well as nominations for the Pushcart Prize in Poetry and Fiction, nominations for Woman of Honors from LHU, two fellowships at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and a Bread Loaf writing fellowship. Her website is www.marjoriemaddox.com.

“Looking back over more than 30 years at LHU, I am especially proud to have mentored so many diverse and creative students and, through the Reading Series, to bring students together with over 150 poets, novelists and playwrights. internationally renowned authors who have inspired and changed the lives of students,” said Maddox Hafer. “With this award, I also celebrate the successes of students as they continue to publish books, produce plays, edit magazines, teach others, and in many ways improve their communities. “

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox