Home Faculty meeting Consumer Research Professional Graeff Wins MTSU Career Excellence Award; 10 other teachers praised for their teaching, their service

Consumer Research Professional Graeff Wins MTSU Career Excellence Award; 10 other teachers praised for their teaching, their service


MURFREESBORO, Tennessee – A professor of marketing at Middle Tennessee State University whose regular teamwork with his students and colleagues provides information to consumers about the Tennessee economy has chosen to focus on these students and colleagues, and his family, after receiving the highest teaching honor at the university.

Timothy Graeff, professor in the Marketing Department at Jones College of Business at MTSU since 1992, is the 2021 recipient of the MTSU Foundation Career Achievement Award.

He was praised on Thursday August 19 at the university’s fall faculty meeting for his teaching, research and student service.

University president Sidney A. McPhee and alumnus Ronald Roberts, vice president of the MTSU Foundation, presented Graeff with his award at MTSU’s Tucker Theater, the traditional site of the annual faculty meeting before the start of each new academic year.

“Often at the end of each of my classes, I ask my students, ‘What did you learn today? And they’ll tell me things – sometimes it’s very surprising what they tell me – but what we all are now is reflective learning: “What did you learn?

“One very important thing I learned is that no one can have a successful career here without the help and support of MANY other people on this campus. This is absolutely true for me, as many of you are here today, or watching online, who I have dealt with in my department, college, university committees, just different special projects, and I leaned on you, asked for advice, asked for help, and received so much support from my department heads, my deans – it’s just unimaginable.

“So to all of those people that I have had a connection with in my career, thank you for your help and support, and thank you for being a part of my career here.”

MTSU’s Office of Consumer Research, established in 2000, conducts quarterly surveys of Tennessee residents and Tennessee business leaders, measuring their economic outlook and impact on key economic indicators such as inflation, interest rates and consumer spending.

The Tennessee Consumer Outlook Index surveys 600 random Tennessee residents online in March, June, September and December to learn about their perceptions of current business and economic conditions and their expectations for future conditions. The Tennessee Business Barometer Survey, a partnership with the Tennessee Chamber of Commerce and Industry, conducts similar surveys of business leaders statewide.

Graeff students help prepare for the two surveys, which are archived online on the OCR website, https://www.mtsu.edu/consumer.

Graeff, who has taught courses in marketing principles, consumer behavior, service marketing, and marketing research during his 29 years at MTSU, has won numerous awards on and off campus for his work, including three of the university’s Outstanding Teaching Awards, two Outstanding Public Service Awards and one Distinguished Research Award.

He has also coordinated the MTSU Teaching Mentorship Program since its inception in 2004, an effort with the university’s Center for Learning, Teaching and Innovative Technologies that teams up with experienced faculty and participants at the training and professional development opportunity for LT & ITC fellows.

MTSU Provost Mark Byrnes noted that the work of the Teaching Mentorship Program demonstrates Graeff’s “commitment to improving teaching excellence.”

Byrnes also recognized 10 other MTSU Foundation Award recipients during the meeting for their accomplishments in and outside the classroom. Prior to the honors, McPhee delivered his State of the University Address for 2021; this story is available at http://ow.ly/Lpsz30rRvYB.

The three recipients of the university’s 2021 Outstanding Teaching Award are:

– Odie Blackmon, Department of the Recording Industry.
– Tiffany D. Rogers, Department of Psychology.
– Dianna Z. Rust, Department of University Studies.

The seven additional recipients of the Foundation Prize for 2021 are:

– Outstanding General Education Award —Kim Cleary Sadler, Department of Biology.

– Excellence in Teaching Technology Award —Keith Jacks Gamble, 2019-2020 recipient, Department of Economics and Finance, and Frank P. Lambert, Department of Educational Leadership at Womack.

– Distinguished Research Awards —Amy Elleman, Department of Elementary and Special Education; Philip E. Phillips, University Honors College and Department of English; and Ben Stickle, Department of Criminal Justice Administration.

– Distinguished Creativity Award —Meg Brooker, Department of Theater and Dance.

– During the meeting, MTSU also honored 22 new Emeritus Professors and 39 newly promoted and / or tenured faculty members on campus.

The full 2021 MTSU Foundation Awards program, which includes more details on the winners and other winners, is available in PDF format at http://ow.ly/rcYE30rRunA.

MTSU’s 110th academic year begins on Monday August 23 with the first day of fall 2021 classes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here