Home Faculty meeting COEHS Student Advisory Council Awards Ceremony – Western Illinois University

COEHS Student Advisory Council Awards Ceremony – Western Illinois University


COEHS Student Advisory Council Awards Ceremony

May 18, 2022

MACOMB/MOLINE, IL — — The Western Illinois University College of Education and Human Services Student Advisory Council hosted an awards ceremony to recognize the achievements of students, faculty, and staff on Wednesday, May 4.

Prize categories and winners include:

The High Impact Student Organization Award
This prize is awarded to a student organization that has had a strong impact on the departmental, school and college communities. It recognizes programs, workshops, or initiatives the organization has facilitated and their contribution to three of the University’s core values: educational opportunity, personal growth, and social responsibility.

Winner: Social Work Student Associationwith Junior Social Work Major Erica Hartman as Chair and Senior Social Work Major Marissa Fast as Vice Chair.

Very Supportive Staff Award
This award recognizes a support staff member who has positively enhanced the COEHS community, provided access and resources to students, and is mindful of diversity and inclusion in their interactions with students and other members of the community. community.

Winner (Macomb): Riley Konitzer, COEHS Academic Advisor
Winner (QC): Kimberly Moreno, COEHS Academic Advisor

High Impact Faculty Award
This award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated creativity and innovation in their teaching style and classroom engagements; demonstrates understanding and sensitivity to diversity and inclusiveness when teaching; provided student access and offered mentorship and guidance during school and office hours and demonstrated leadership.

Winner (Macomb): James La Prad, teacher of education
Winner (QC): Matthew Beck, Associate Professor in Counselor Education

Emerging Student Leader Award
This award recognizes students who have demonstrated academic excellence and leadership excellence through their outstanding contributions to COEHS.

Winner (Macomb Bachelor): Erica Hartman, Junior Major in Social Work
Winner (Macomb graduate): Roseline Oladimeji, graduate student in kinesiology
Winner (Quebec Undergraduate): Jenna Zurcher, Major in Law Enforcement and Administration of Justice
Winner (QC graduate): Melanie Rice, graduate student in counseling
Winner (online): Tyler Sward, graduate student in education

The ceremony, which included live broadcasts from the Macomb and Quad Cities campuses, celebrated these community-building contributions.

“I am very proud of all the accomplishments of COEHS students, faculty and staff. They are truly a remarkable group of people,” said Katrina Daytner, Associate Dean of COEHS.

In addition to celebrating COEHS members, the awards ceremony was the culmination of months of intensive effort by the COEHS Student Advisory Council.

“The work of the College of Education and Human Services Student Advisory Council is part of our broader approach to increasing student voice in policy-making. The council, which includes representatives from each department, meets under the direction of the associate dean. [Daytner] once a month. Their comments and views are discussed at college-wide leadership meetings, and action is taken to address ideas and issues raised,” said Francis Godwyll, Dean of the College of Education & Human Services.

“Other efforts to increase student voice and be more inclusive include having a student representative on all college faculty and staff search committees. We have also instituted a biannual meeting with leaders of extracurricular student organizations in the college to get feedback on prospective students and find opportunities for collaboration.In addition, we have also set up a student town hall once a semester with the college leadership to discuss their needs , goals and ideas,” he added.

For more information about the College of Education and Human Services and its programs, visit wiu.edu/coehs.

Posted by: University Communications ([email protected])
University Communications and Marketing Office