Home Faculty meeting All 15 sports training staff from member institutions honored with GLVC Kearns...

All 15 sports training staff from member institutions honored with GLVC Kearns 2021 Service Award


INDIANAPOLIS – The Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) has named the 15 athletic training staff from member institutions as 2021 recipients of the Dr Thomas Kearns Service Award, the board announced on Wednesday of the Conference. They were officially recognized this afternoon at the fall league administrators meeting, as the head athletic coach of the University of Maryville, Scott Harley, and the University of Missouri-St. Louis, director of sports medicine, Tim Herlihy, was present to accept on behalf of the other 13 schools.

The Dr. Thomas Kearns Service Award is presented to an individual or group who has contributed to the success of GLVC, in regards to the NCAA Division II attributes of learning, poise, ingenuity, sportsmanship, passion and service.

This is the first time in the award’s 11-year history that more than two people have been honored in the same year after a strong desire from the GLVC Council of Presidents, Athletic Directors, representatives of athletic faculties and senior administrators. de and publicly recognize the group.

Athletic Coaches (TAs) have been instrumental in helping the Conference meet the unprecedented challenge that the COVID-19 pandemic presented in 2020 and continues to present in 2021, while Chief TAs helped create the protocol and recommendations for returning to the league resocialization game. .

Each AT staff member has made the health and safety of student-athletes a priority by assisting with COVID testing, contact tracing and other protocols, in addition to their traditional day-to-day care and responsibility responsibilities. rehabilitation. The vital role they play on campus continues this academic year with challenges that are both new and familiar.

The GLVC Service Award is named in honor of Dr. Thomas Kearns, who served as the Northern Kentucky College’s athletic representative for 23 years and provided unparalleled service to the GLVC during that time. Kearns served the GLVC as Treasurer and Chairman during his tenure at NKU and helped with the budget reporting system and current revenue sharing policy. He spearheaded the league’s first major expansion, wrote GLVC Hall of Fame guidelines, served on GLVC’s initial awards committee, and developed and updated the GLVC Handbook. Kearns has spent countless hours developing the GLVC into one of the major NCAA Division II sports conferences.

The award was first presented in 2011 to Kevin Listerman of northern Kentucky, and has since been presented to Eric Hess (2012) of SIU Edwardsville), David and Lois Stevens (2013) of USI, Roy Pickerill ( 2014) from Kentucky Wesleyan, Ray and Cindy Bippus from ICU (2015), Doug McCarty and Dan Cunningham (2016) from EastSide Center in East Peoria, Illinois, Bill and Teresa Massoels from Saint Joseph College (2017), John Kean from Missouri S&T (2018) and Larry Sondhaus of the University of Indianapolis (2019). The 2020 award was not presented due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here