Home Faculty meeting 2021-22 Rutherford County, Murfreesboro City Teachers of the Year

2021-22 Rutherford County, Murfreesboro City Teachers of the Year


When Jessica Pinson learned that she would be the high school’s choice for district-level teacher of the year, she was surprised.

She also felt unworthy.

“Just because if I look at my department, or the rest of the faculty, I don’t deserve it any more than they do,” said Pinson, a teacher at Central Magnet School. “I’ve seen them spend countless hours troubleshooting and adapting lessons for kids during such a difficult year. We all do it.

Pinson’s love for his content is absolute. After deciding to minor in Spanish in college, Pinson went on to study abroad where she says teaching wasn’t even on her radar. She loved the challenge of learning a new language.

Now she shares that love with her students.

“At this point in the year you start to see things click with the kids – I’m so lucky to be able to teach them,” Pinson said.

School Spotlight: Carnegie Hall performers and Central Magnet student win Best of Show

Raeven Brooks: Black Fox Teacher Receives ‘Teaching Oscars’

Pinson, along with 50 other Rutherford County teachers, will be honored with a 2021-22 Teacher of the Year reception on April 28 at Embassy Suites in Murfreesboro. The pandemic has prevented the school district from hosting an in-person Teacher of the Year event for the past two years.

Rutherford County Schools Teachers of the Year

Here is a complete list of RCS teachers for the year 2021-2022:

  • Barfield Elementary – Sheryl Evans
  • Blackman Elementary School—Tye McCleary
  • Blackman High—Lauren Hutchins
  • Blackman Mid — Sheila Almeda Panther
  • Brown Chapel Elementary School – Rebecca Kuchta
  • Buchanan Elementary School – Kortnee Carter
  • Cedar Grove Elementary School—Kathy Mosley
  • Central Magnet – Jessica Pinson (high school winner)
  • Christiana Elementary School — Lora Vetter
  • Christiana Middle — Carlie Littrell
  • Daniel McKee—Sarah Long
  • David Youree Elementary School—Audra McLeod
  • Eagleville School – Mary Alice Curtis
  • Holloway High—Sheneka Macha Hernandez
  • Homer Pittard Campus—Anne S. Mayes
  • John Colemon Elementary School—Myra Renea Elliott
  • Kittrell Elementary School—Rebecca Lynn Speck
  • Lascassas Elementary School—Nicheala Allison
  • LaVergne High School—Dale Hudson
  • Lac LaVergne—Melissa Natter
  • La Vergne Middle — Brayan Bunyi
  • McFadden—Jenny Copeland
  • Oakland High – Carol Keener
  • Oakland Middle—Elizabeth Sinor
  • Plainview Elementary School—Katelyn Hand
  • RCS Virtual School — Laura L. Schlesinger
  • Riverdale High School – Kyle Hurt
  • Rock Springs – Elementary Carla Derrick
  • Rock Springs Middle—Nathaniel Morris
  • Rockvale Elementary School – Christy Steagall
  • Rockvale High School – Kimberly Kay Armstrong
  • Rockvale Middle—Caitlyn Rae Brown
  • Rocky Fork Elementary School – Shameeka Edwards
  • Rocky Fork Middle – Kaitlyn Benavides (Middle Tier Winner)
  • Roy Waldron Elementary School – Emily G. Faust
  • Siegel High—Roger R. Alcendor
  • Siegel Middle – Mary Hannah Hardiman
  • Smyrna Primary School – Shelly Mangrum
  • Smyrna High School—Donald A. Trumphour
  • Smyrna Middle — Jenny Kawano
  • Smyrna Primary — Jesse Rutherford
  • West Smyrna — Dana Renee Bennett
  • Stewarts Creek Elementary School — KaVitaLyles
  • Stewarts Creek – High Emily Spears
  • Stewarts Creek Middle—Allison Haley Glapa
  • Stewartsboro Elementary – Brittany May
  • Thurman Francis—Mary Jennifer Reeves
  • Walter Hill Elementary School—Molly Swann
  • Whitworth-Buchanan Middle—Joshua Caleb Picklesimer
  • Wilson Elementary – Shannon Marie Creekmore (elementary level winner)
  • Principal of the Year – April Sneed, Whitworth-Buchanan Middle
  • Supervisor of the Year — Mark Gullion, Federal Programs Coordinator

Murfreesboro City Schools Teachers of the Year

Murfreesboro City Schools recently recognized Teachers of the Year at a city council meeting and ceremony.

  • Black Fox – Kim Inglis and Kristy Lewis
  • Bradley Academy – Macari Harrison and Donna Beers
  • Cason Lane — Amy Walker Kristy Timberlake
  • Discovery — Kelly Holman and Melissa Carnes
  • Erma Siegel – Devontae Kelley and Jennifer George
  • Hobgood – Nichole Bell and Olivia Calvo
  • John Pittard — Francina Jackson and Stephanie Stephens
  • Mitchell-Neilson—Amy Adcock, Ashlee Walker, and Clinton Staggs
  • Northfield—Rachel Davenport and Shirelle Ford-Jackson
  • Global Stream – Anna McDonald and Amanda Turnbo
  • Reeves-Rogers—Malia Rankins and Brittany Davison
  • Salem – Kimberly Kahle and Lance Pearcy
  • Scales – Jessica Sorth and Kayla Embry

Black Fox’s Kim Inglis and Salem’s Lance Pearcy were selected as district-level teachers of the year.